Program Overview

The NEI Master Psychopharmacology Program is an educational curriculum designed to help you develop proficiency in the practice of psychopharmacology.

Enrollment in this program is included with NEI Membership!

This program provides you with:
  1. Self-assessments to identify your baseline competencies in ten core areas of mental health
  2. Personalized feedback on your knowledge gaps and a list of recommended resources based on your self-assessment results
  3. Regularly released online activities in various formats that teach to the material covered in the self-assessments
  4. A summary to track your progress

How To Become an NEI Master Psychopharmacologist
  1. Complete the 10 self-assessments*
  2. Complete 24 learning activities (use your personalized list of Recommended Resources, provided at the end of each self-assessment, to select which activities to complete)
  3. Pass the final exam
*You may retake the self-assessments as many times as desired to assess your progress and readiness for the final exam; however, they can be taken for CME credit only once.


Most parts of the Master Psychopharmacology Program are offered for CME credit. Completion of all requirements for the Master Psychopharmacology Program is not associated with additional CME credit.
  • The set of 10 self-assessments offers CME credit (see each self-assessment for specific CME details). Total credits for the 10 self-assessments is 16.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.
  • The online learning activities (excluding articles) offer CME credit (see each learning activity for specific CME details).
  • The final exam does not offer CME credit.
Accreditation with Commendation

NEI The Neuroscience Education Institute is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.
ABPN – Maintenance of Certification (MOC)

The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN) has reviewed NEI's "Master Psychopharmacology Program Self-Assessments, 2018-2020 Edition" online activity and has approved this program as part of a comprehensive lifelong learning and self-assessment program, which is mandated by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) as a necessary component of maintenance of certification. This activity awards 16.0 Self-Assessment Category 1 CME credits.

More information about ABPN's Maintenance of Certification Program for psychiatry is available at